Niagara Parks LB

Canadian Tour announces major changes to 2012 Qualifying School

Oakville, ON (February 24, 2012) - The Canadian Tour announced its plans for 2012 Spring Qualifying School today. Canadian Tour Q-School will take place May 8-11 at The Country Club at Soboba Springs and Oak Valley Golf Club. Both courses have PGA TOUR pedigree with Soboba Springs hosting the Nationwide Tour's Soboba Golf Classic in April and Oak Valley having hosted second and first stages of PGA TOUR Qualifying school in years past.

"The decision to consolidate the Canadian Tour Q-School into a single competition was done for a number of reasons," stated Rick Janes, Commissioner of the Canadian Tour. "The first reason was to offer a maximum number of cards to the field and to move it closer to the start of the domestic Canadian Tour schedule," added Janes, who confirmed the season will kick off at the 28th playing of the Times Colonist Island Savings Open June 7-10, 2012.

A record total of 60 Canadian Tour cards will be awarded to top finishers regardless of field size, which will be capped at 264 players. This marks the first time since 1986 that the Canadian Tour has only offered one Q-School.

Play will be conducted on two tournament courses with each competitor playing both courses twice. Deadline for entries is set for May 2, 2012.

Canadian Tour Q-School graduates include a number of players that have gone on to make a name for them selves in the world of golf be it on the PGA TOUR or in Europe. Notables include PGA TOUR winner's Mike Weir, Ian Leggatt, Chris DiMarco, Steve Stricker, Todd Hamilton, Nathan Green, D.A. Points, Will MacKenzie, Kirk Triplett, Jason Bohn, Brendan Steele, Notah Begay and Tim Herron to name a few. A total of 172 Canadian Tour members have gone on to the PGA TOUR and additional 142 past members have gone on to the Nationwide Tour.
Golf genius 300 x 250