Golf Canada re-elects David McCarthy as President at Annual Meeting

Oakville, ON – Golf Canada’s 2024 Annual Meeting culminated on Thursday, March 7 with the election of David McCarthy of Toronto to serve a second term as the 117th President of the National Sport Federation.

McCarthy, who recently retired as a senior partner at Stikeman Elliott LLP, has been a volunteer with Golf Canada for more than 20 years across various committees, councils, and championships. A member of the Donalda Golf & Country Club, the St. Andrews Golf Club, and the Royal & Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews, McCarthy has served on the Board of Directors of Golf Canada since 2018.

“I am extremely honoured that the Nominating Committee has extended its confidence in me to serve a second term as President of Golf Canada,” said McCarthy. “We are coming off a remarkable 2023 season of strong participation and incredible performances by our Canadian golfers domestically and on the world stage. We are also excited to introduce this year an initiative to use golf to promote mental health and physical well being. There is a great momentum in Canadian golf and together with the Board of Directors, our industry and provincial association partners and volunteers from coast to coast, I look forward to helping advance our sport in 2024.”

Based on the report of Golf Canada’s Nominating Committee, McCarthy will be joined on the 2024 Board of Directors by returning Vice-President Adam Daifallah of Montréal, Que. in leading the 13-member Board of Directors who will work closely with Golf Canada CEO Laurence Applebaum and Golf Canada’s management team.

Returnees to the Board of Directors include Susan MacKinnon of Calgary, Alta., Jean-Sébastien Monty of Montréal, Que., Michelle Collens of Vancouver, B.C. Kelly Roberts of London, Ont. and Patrick Kelly of Victoria, B.C.

New additions to Golf Canada’s Board of Directors include Lori Dithurbide of Halifax, N.S., Katie Mahon of Kingston, Ont., Louise Patry of Montréal, Que., Nafeez Hirji of Calgary, Alta., Peter Broome of Jupiter, Fla. and former LPGA Tour player and Team Canada graduate Britanny Marchand of Mooresville, N.C.

For the biographies of Golf Canada Board members, click here.

Golf Canada also announced during its Annual General Meeting that Canadian Golf Hall of Fame member Doug Roxburgh of Vancouver, B.C. has been named an Honorary Life Governor of Golf Canada in recognition of his longstanding contributions to the association and the sport.

As part of its Annual General Meeting, which was conducted virtually, Golf Canada also released the organization’s 2023 Annual Report including its Financial Statements which are available here.

Cheryl Lee and Carolyn Naylor named 2023 Co-Recipients of the Bruce Mitchell Volunteer of the Year Award…
In the continued celebration of volunteerism, Golf Canada recognized Vancouver natives Cheryl Lee and Carolyn Naylor as the 2023 recipients of the Bruce Mitchell Volunteer of the Year Award. The duo served as Chair and Vice-Chair of the Player Services Committee for the 2023 CPKC Women’s Open at Shaughnessy Golf and Country Club.  Now in its 18th year, candidates for the Bruce Mitchell Volunteer of the Year Award are put forth for consideration in acknowledgment of significant contributions to the game of golf in their community. Click here for more.

Golf Canada’s 2024 Annual Meeting was conducted virtually on Thursday, March 7 with volunteers, staff, member clubs, and industry stakeholders participating.

Golf Canada is the National Sports Federation and governing body for golf in Canada representing more than 340,100 golfers and 1,505 member clubs across the country. A proud member of the Canadian Olympic Committee, Golf Canada’s mission is to increase Canadian participation and excellence in golf. For more information about what Golf Canada is doing to support golf in your community, visit

Fairways Magazine

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *