Larry Cooper & Lars Melander capture Ontario Senior Better Ball Championship

BRAMPTON  – The final event of the Golf Ontario season took place on September 22 at the Brampton Golf Club. It may have been the first official day of fall, but conditions were excellent for the 2016 Ontario Senior Men’s Better-Ball Championship.

When all of the scores were entered, after the shotgun, 18-hole competition, the team of Oakville’s Larry Cooper, from the Mississaugua Golf & Country Club, and Lars Melander, from Hidden Lake Golf Club, saw their names at the top of the leaderboard. The duo had an outstanding day and finished with a five-under (66) to claim the title. While this was the first provincial title for the 64-year-old Melander, Cooper, 59, has found provincial success in the past, as he was the 2014 Ontario Senior Men’s Champion.

Afterwards, both players had different reasons to celebrate, as the win meant something to each of them on another level. “This is the first time in 10 years as a senior competitor that I have won a gold-coloured medal,” said Melander. “I have come second a number of times, but never been able to win one until now!”

The win was also a special one for Cooper as his name will now go on the trophy, that his father, David, won in 1992 and 1997.

Second place was shared by a trio of teams who all finished the day at three-under (68). The tie included the 2015 Ontario Senior Men’s Better-Ball Champions Toronto’s Robert Gibson (Cedar Brae Golf & Country Club) and Stoney Creek’s Colin Grieve (Glendale Golf & Country Club); Fenwick’s Jim Briggs (Peninsula Lakes Golf Club) and Toronto’s Mark Bennett (Bayview Golf and Country Club); and Toronto’s John Mealia and Richmond Hill’s Michael Mealia (both from Bayview Golf and Country Club).

Golf Ontario would like to thank the staff and volunteers from Brampton Golf Club, along with the Golf Ontario volunteers, for their support of amateur golf in Ontario. For complete tournament information visit the tournament site at:

About the Ontario Senior Men’s Better-Ball Championship

The Ontario Senior Men’s Better Ball Championship was first contested in 1982. It is open to players aged 55 and older as of the date of the tournament. The championship trophy was donated by the Oakdale Golf & Country Club, who annually host Golf Ontario’s Men’s Better-Ball Championship. Notable champions include Ontario Golf Hall of Famers Nick Westlock and Stu Hamilton.


1 Larry Cooper  Mississaugua & Lars Melander  Hidden Lake  66

T2 Jim Briggs  Peninsula Lakes GC & Mark Bennett  Bayview G&CC 68

T2 Robert Gibson  Cedar Brae  & Colin Grieve  Glendale  68

T2 Michael Mealia  Bayview  & John Mealia  Bayview  68

T5 Gordon Dunn  Glendale  & Pat Alpaugh  Brantford   69

T5 Christopher Kertsos  York Downs & Dan Partland  The National 69

T5 Guy Kohlmeier  Sarnia & Jace Kohlmeier  Sarnia  69

T5 John Murphy  Barrie CC & Doug McCann  Heritage Hills GC  69

T5 Marty Quincey  Devil’s Pulpit & Brian Semkiw  Devil’s Pulpit  69

T5 Kelly Roberts  London Hunt & Warren Sye  Weston  69

T5 Mark Ruzycki  Hamilton & Rob West  Oviinbyrd  69

T12 Douglas Alexander  London Hunt & Carl Nanni  Meadowbrook  70

T12 Rick Ludlow  Cutten Fields & Dave Bergeron  Sunningdale GC 70

T12 Michael Pogor  Hidden Lake & Gary Ward  Hidden Lake  70

T12 William “Art” Trojan  St. George’s  & Chris Kelos  Meadowbrook  70

T16 Kevin Boland  Brampton & Dan Boland  Brampton  71

T16 Tom Cochrane  Parry Sound & Bruce McEwen  Scarboro  71

T16 Rick Dodds-Hebron  Brampton & Jim Perivolaris  Sunningdale GC 71

T16 Dan Gagliardi  Chippewa Creek & Rick Russell  Chippewa Creek  71

T16 Howard Glassman  Glencairn & Tim Southcott  Glencairn  71

T16 Mark Kalbfleisch  Oshawa & Brian Neilson  Oshawa  71

T16 David Stroud  Public Player & Don McLean  Greystone  71

T16 Brent Taylor  Whistle Bear & Bobby Lavigne  Whistle Bear  71

T24 Stephen Ashby  St. George’s & Ian Kidson  Rosedale  72

T24 Hugh Fallon  OslerBrook & Steve Knoch  OslerBrook  72

T24 David Goodman  Public Player & Peter Mumford  Public Player 72

T24 Ryan Holmes  Blue Springs & Michael Alderman  Blue Springs  72

T24 Greg Hotham  Barrie CC & Neil Boddington  Barrie CC 72

T24 Robert Lamoureux  Mississaugua & Ralph Govan  Mississaugua  72

T24 Garry Spence  St. Thomas & Bruce Marshall  St. Thomas  72

T31 David Johnson  Oak Bay  & Mark Davidson  Hawk Ridge  73

T31 Jeff Maslanka  Deer Ridge  & Rick Valin  Deer Ridge  73

T31 John Robinson  Sunningdale GC & Peter MacKinnon  Maple City  73

T31 Mike Soucie  Twenty Valley & Michael Baines  Twenty Valley  73

T35 Paul Brace  Public Player & Dan Bates  Credit Valley  74

T35 Desmond Brady  Lookout Point & Doug Piett  Lookout Point  74

T35 Dennis Cote  Brampton  & Tom McBarron  Hamilton  74

T35 Michael Jackson  Georgian Bay Club & Sandy Billyard  Hunters Pointe  74

T35 Bill Leak  Toronto & Jamie Robertson  Rosedale  74

T35 Bob Masukawa  St. Andrew’s East & Bill Hilton  St. Andrew’s East  74

T35 Charlie Pittock Bond Head & Al Corbeil   Bond Head 74

T35 Peter Tobin  Kingsville  & Mario Guertin  Rattlesnake Point  74

T43 Paul Maynard  Public Player & Donald Dasti  Oshawa  75

T43 George Moon  The Summit  & Larry Hevenor  St. Catharines  75

T43 Jim Panetta  Grand Niagara  & Jim Murdoch  Grand Niagara  75

T46 Martin Cairns  Donalda Club &Terry MacGorman  Donalda Club 76

T46 Allan Donald  Donalda Club & Ian Tod  Donalda Club 76

T46 Ronald Kerr  Brampton  & Glenn McClelland  Brampton  76

T46 Frank Mortensen  Lookout Point & Tony Ravenda  Hunters Pointe  76

T50 Howard Atkinson   Toronto Hunt & Jay Cressman  Elmira  77

T50 Randy Doucette  Victoria Park East & Derek Brown  Victoria Park East  77

T50 Ian Montgomery  Weston & Richard Lockwood  Highland Country Club 77

T50 Gordon Nichols  The Summit & Phil Charal  The Summit   77

54 John Wellard  North Bay & William Lang  Deerhurst Highlands 78

55 John Mcbride  Lakeridge Links & Gary Volpe  St. Thomas  79

56 Stephen White  Peterborough & Bryon Fife  Peterborough  82

Fairways Magazine

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *