Nonie Marler takes Ontario Women’s Mid Amateur crown

Dalewood, ON – With the third and final round coming to an end for the Ontario Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship at Dalewood Golf Club, Public Player Nonie Marler (Marine Drive GC) took home the prestigious title. The weather couldn’t have been more welcoming today, especially after the rain delays and wind we’ve experienced earlier in the week.

Three near flawless rounds left Marler in a great position for today’s win, with four birdies on the day (218). Climbing the leaderboard in the final round, Terrill Samuel (Weston G&CC), played her best round of the championship finishing with one under par (222). Falling to third, 2017 Ontario Women’s Mid-Amateur Champion Judith Kyrinis (Granite GC), completed the day with a tough 76 (224).

The conditions were certainly interesting and as it dried out over the course of the last couple of days, the greens sped up and it’s been great to be out here”, said Marler while reflecting on the rounds. With the circumstances surrounding Covid, we are dealing with “very interesting times so it’s an absolute pleasure and honour to be able to play actual tournament golf at the moment, and certainly for the last couple of days in the company of Judith. Judith and I played together last summer in the Canadian Mid-Amateur’s, so it’s nice to be able to play with her again; Terrill as well and then Lindsay today”. In closing, “Rob (Watson) thank you much, you and your team, you guys were fantastic and you have done a great job here so far in spite of these very interesting times. To Brad, his guys and gals in the pro shop, and Jerry Fox the Super Intendent and his crew, thank you very much. A big thank you to the many volunteers who took the time out of their week to assist with this event as well. All in all, thank you for letting a Vancouverite play with you ladies this week!”

With one more round to go for the Ontario Women’s Amateur Championship, sitting atop the leaderboard is Michigan State University golfer, Sydney Naro (Public Player), with consistent play over the three rounds (214). Tied for second place currently is Kristen Giles (Eagle Ridge GC), Claire Hernandez (Thornhill Club), and Brooke Rivers (Brampton GC). Giles moved up the rankings today with a solid three under par (69), while Hernandez and Rivers respectfully maintained their position.

The fourth and final round will begin at 7:30 a.m. tomorrow. For future results and information on the championship, visit the official championship page here.

For photos of the tournament, click here.

About the Ontario Women’s Am & Mid Am Championship

First played in 1904, the Ontario Women’s Amateur Championship is Ontario’s oldest provincial championship and is the pinnacle of women’s golf in the province. The event features the best female golfers from across Ontario in a 72-hole stroke play format.

The Women’s Amateur has produced a rich history of champions throughout the tournaments long and cherished existence. Past winners include 1968 LPGA Tour players Sandra Post (1964), Alena Sharp (1989), Jennifer Kirby (2009, 2010), Augusta James (2011), Brittany Marchand (2012), Brooke Henderson (2014), Maddie Szeryk and Team Canada standout Brigitte Thibault (2019). World, Canadian and Ontario Golf Hall of Fame member, Marlene Stewart Streit, holds the record for the most titles with 11 (’51, ’56, ’57, ’58, ’68, ’69, ’70, ’72, ’74, ’76, and ’77).

First played in 1989, the Ontario Women’s Mid-Amateur Championship is open to female golfers aged 25 and over. In honour of her outstanding accomplishments at the Mid-Amateur level in Ontario, the trophy is rightfully named after 14-time champion Mary Ann Hayward. The event is contested annually in a 54-hole competition. Other notable past champions of the event include 2012 Canadian Senior Women’s Champion Terrill Samuel (1991, 2000 and 2010), Casey Ward (2015) and Golf Ontario Hall of Fame members Gayle Borthwick Hitchens (1992, 1993), and Judith Kyrinis (2017).

Fairways Magazine

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *