Rusty Strawn captures 2022 Canadian Men’s Senior Championship

RED DEER, Alta.  – As the saying goes, there’s power in momentum. It’s a saying that Rusty Strawn knows all too well after securing back-to-back victories this September at the U.S. Senior Amateur Championship in Marion, Mass., and the Canadian Men’s Senior Championship, presented by BDO in Red Deer, Alta. Nine days separated the two wins. Needless to say, the McDonough, Ga. resident is going to need a bigger trophy case.

Heading into the final round at Red Deer Golf and Country Club, the 59-year-old shared the lead with fellow American, Mike Lohner of Southlake, Tex. The pair went back and forth throughout the day, both beginning their round at 5-under-par. It wasn’t until the back nine when Strawn hit a groove, birdieing three of his last eight holes to pull away from the pack to secure the 60th Canadian Men’s Senior Championship title.

“I was very fortunate last week to win the United States Senior Amateur,” said Strawn. “And of course, by doing it I got the exemption to the United States Mid-Amateur, and I told the people at the USGA, I said, there is no way I’m going to miss the Canadian Men’s Senior. I absolutely love it here.”

To celebrate, Strawn popped a bottle of champagne and toasted the volunteers, Red Deer Golf and Country Club staff, and fellow competitors “To my new Canadian friends!”. He also commented, “having my picture taken with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police is the coolest picture I’ve ever taken.”

Strawn was also highly complimentary of the host club.

“It’s just been a wonderful week here in Red Deer,” said Strawn. “When I arrived here for my practice round on Sunday – probably the strength of my game is my putting – and when I rolled those first few putts on the practice green, I was like, I have nobody but myself to blame because they were absolutely awesome.”

Low Canadian Ken Griffith, who is a member at Red Deer Golf and Country Club, placed third on the leaderboard, carding a total score of 288, his best finish ever at the national championship.  Fellow members, Grant Lee and Peter Innes also competed in the tournament and finished T7 and T15, respectively.

Frank Van Dornick ran away with the Super Senior division securing the title and the Governor’s Cup by 10 strokes.

Earlier in the week, host club Team Alberta won the 36-hole inter-provincial team competition in an impressive 11-stroke victory over runner-up Team British Columbia. Ken Griffith (Red Deer Golf & Country Club), Senan Foley (Public Player – Alberta), and Kelly Risling (Medicine Hat Golf & Country Club) shot a collective one-under to give Team Alberta the back-to-back victory as they defended their 2019 title and claimed the Phil Farley Memorial Trophy.


Championship History

Conducted since 1962, the Canadian Men’s Senior Championship has grown to become one of most popular amateur golf events in Canada. In 1995, we introduced the 65 and over Canadian Super Senior division in addition to the existing 55 and over age group.

Calgary’s Bob Wylie has captured seven John Rankin Memorial Trophies since 1985. Nick Weslock, one of Canada’s greatest amateurs of the century, won the event six times between 1973 and 1983. Ray Reid of Edmonton claimed a place in Canada’s golf history by winning the inaugural Super Senior Championship and having his name as the first to be engraved on the Governors Cup in 1995. Graham Cooke is a four-time winner of this event and is the winningest amateur champion in Canada; his resume also includes seven mid-amateur titles.

In 2010, Paul Simson made history by becoming the first person to win the British, U.S. and Canadian senior titles in the same year.

The Senior Championship is played over 72 holes with a cut after 36 holes. The Super Senior Championship is contested concurrently over the first 36 holes of the championship. The Senior Inter-provincial Team Championship, established in 1977, runs concurrently with the first 36 holes of the tournament.

The champion receives an exemption into the United States Golf Association’s Senior Amateur

Past Champions 

2021: Darren Ritchie

2020: No Championship due to COVID-19 / Aucun championnat en raison de la COVID-19

2019: Gene Elliott

2018: Brad Exber

2017: Gene Elliott

2016: Michael Mercier

2015: Jack Hall

2014: Doug Roxburgh

2013: David Schultz

2012: Chip Lutz

2011: Chip Lutz

2010: Paul Simson

2009: Graham Cooke

2008: Graham Cooke

2007: David Lane

2006: Peter Howe

2005: Robert Fugere

2004: Dave Webber

2003: André Gagné

2002: Graham Cooke

2001: Graham Cooke

2000: *Bud Bradley

1999: Norman Gray

1998: George Stokes

1997: Patrick Suraj

1996: *Patrick Suraj

1995: Robert Wylie

1994: Doug Silverberg

1993: Robert Wylie

1992: Bill Bosshard

1991: R. Keith Alexander

1990: Bob Wylie

1989: Dick Estey

1988: Bob Wylie

1987: Bob Wylie

1986: Bob Wylie

1985: Bob Wylie

1984: Thomas Hunter

1983: Nick Weslock

1982: Arnold Baker

1981: Nick Weslock

1980: Nick Weslock

1979: Nick Weslock

1978: Herb Carnegie

1977: Herb Carnegie

1976: Edward Ervasti

1975: John S. Poyen

1974: Nick Weslock

1973: Nick Weslock

1972: *Merle N. Noyes

1971: Henry Mitchell

1970: Jack Nash

1969: Phil Farley

1968: Phil Farley

1967: Dr. George B. Bigelow

1966: Jack Littler

1965: George. C. Hevenor

1964: George. C. Hevenor

1963: Wm. W. Martin

1962: George. C. Hevenor


Peter Mumford
Peter Mumford is the Editor of Fairways Magazine. He's played over 500 different courses in 21 countries and met some fascinating people along the way. He's also a long-suffering Toronto Maple Leafs fan.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *